sidebar menu icon


EAST TEXAS AND GULF RAILWAY. The East Texas and Gulf Railway Company was chartered on August 1, 1917, to serve the interests of the Loderick Lumber Company. The capital was $20,000, and the principal office was in Hicksbaugh. The members of the first board of directors were S. B. Hicks and J. T. Wurtsbaugh, both of Shreveport, Louisiana: W. F. Johnson of Natchitoches, Louisiana; J. P. Wurtsbaugh, E. M. Lewis, and C. V. McGee, all of Dyersdale; and E. R. Campbell of Houston. In October 1917 the East Texas and Gulf completed 3.9 miles between Hyatt, where it connected with the Texas and New Orleans, to Hicksbaugh. The railroad also operated over the logging track of the Loderick Lumber Company from Hicksbaugh to Wurtsbaugh, while the lumber company also ran log trains over the East Texas and Gulf. In 1923 the physical valuation ascertained by the Railroad Commission was $61,842. In 1926 the East Texas and Gulf reported passenger earnings of $700 and freight earnings of $19,000 and owned two locomotives and two cars. The mill at Hicksbaugh closed in 1928, and the railroad was abandoned in 1934.

Megan Biesele

Image Use Disclaimer

All copyrighted materials included within the Handbook of Texas Online are in accordance with Title 17 U.S.C. Section 107 related to Copyright and “Fair Use” for Non-Profit educational institutions, which permits the Texas State Historical Association (TSHA), to utilize copyrighted materials to further scholarship, education, and inform the public. The TSHA makes every effort to conform to the principles of fair use and to comply with copyright law.

For more information go to:

If you wish to use copyrighted material from this site for purposes of your own that go beyond fair use, you must obtain permission from the copyright owner.


The following, adapted from the Chicago Manual of Style, 15th edition, is the preferred citation for this article.

Handbook of Texas Online, Megan Biesele, "East Texas and Gulf Railway," accessed November 19, 2017,

Uploaded on June 12, 2010. Published by the Texas State Historical Association.