sidebar menu icon


DENISON AND SOUTHEASTERN RAILWAY. The Denison and Southeastern Railway Company was chartered on July 27, 1877, by the citizens of Denison and Greenville to build a road along the fifty-mile stretch between the two communities. The company had an initial capital of $50,000, and the business office was in Denison. Members of the first board of directors included William Whitewright, William H. Appleton, Nathaniel L. McCready, Hezron A. Johnson, Edward R. Bell, George J. Forrest, Francis Skiddy, Horace M. Ruggles, all from New York, and Alexander W. Acheson of Denison. The Denison and Southeastern Railway completed twenty miles between Denison and Whitewright in early 1880 and acquired the seventy-one miles of the Denison and Pacific on March 11, 1880. On March 23 the name of the railroad was changed to the Missouri, Kansas and Texas Extension Railway Company, which completed the thirty-two miles from Whitewright to Greenville.

Chris Cravens

Image Use Disclaimer

All copyrighted materials included within the Handbook of Texas Online are in accordance with Title 17 U.S.C. Section 107 related to Copyright and “Fair Use” for Non-Profit educational institutions, which permits the Texas State Historical Association (TSHA), to utilize copyrighted materials to further scholarship, education, and inform the public. The TSHA makes every effort to conform to the principles of fair use and to comply with copyright law.

For more information go to:

If you wish to use copyrighted material from this site for purposes of your own that go beyond fair use, you must obtain permission from the copyright owner.


The following, adapted from the Chicago Manual of Style, 15th edition, is the preferred citation for this article.

Handbook of Texas Online, Chris Cravens, "Denison and Southeastern Railway," accessed October 24, 2017,

Uploaded on June 12, 2010. Published by the Texas State Historical Association.