sidebar menu icon


CENTRAL AND MONTGOMERY RAILWAY. The Central and Montgomery Railway Company was chartered on December 31, 1877. The track was planned to begin at some point on the Houston and Texas Central Railway between Navasota and Courtney in Grimes County and extend to Montgomery, Montgomery County, in the timber belt of East Texas-a distance of twenty-five miles. The initial capital was $150,000, and the principal place of business was Plantersville, Grimes County. The members of the first board of directors were G. Jordan, F. A. Hyatt, F. A. Rice, and William D. Cleveland, all of Houston; Thomas W. Blake and Jack Baker, both of Plantersville; James H. Price and J. E. McCombe, both of Montgomery; and David White, of White Hall in Grimes County. In 1878 the railroad built twenty-seven miles of track, from Navasota to Montgomery, and on September 2, 1882, George Sealyqv bought the road and conveyed it to the Gulf, Colorado and Santa Fe Railway Company. However, due to an adverse court decision regarding the legality of the original sale, the Gulf, Colorado and Santa Fe reacquired the Central and Montgomery at a sheriff's sale in 1887.

S. G. Reed

Image Use Disclaimer

All copyrighted materials included within the Handbook of Texas Online are in accordance with Title 17 U.S.C. Section 107 related to Copyright and “Fair Use” for Non-Profit educational institutions, which permits the Texas State Historical Association (TSHA), to utilize copyrighted materials to further scholarship, education, and inform the public. The TSHA makes every effort to conform to the principles of fair use and to comply with copyright law.

For more information go to:

If you wish to use copyrighted material from this site for purposes of your own that go beyond fair use, you must obtain permission from the copyright owner.


The following, adapted from the Chicago Manual of Style, 15th edition, is the preferred citation for this article.

Handbook of Texas Online, S. G. Reed, "Central and Montgomery Railway," accessed November 18, 2017,

Uploaded on June 12, 2010. Published by the Texas State Historical Association.