Lloyd Lyman

TEXAS A&M UNIVERSITY PRESS. The Texas A&M University Press was established in 1974 during Jack K. Williams's tenure as president and chancellor of Texas A&M University and the Texas A&M University System. The press offices and warehouse are in the John H. Lindsey Building on the university campus in College Station. The founding director of the press, Frank H. Wardlaw, had previously established publishing programs at the University of Texas and the University of South Carolina. The press is organized as a university department; the director reports to the university president. Its chief responsibilities are to further the objectives of the university through publications devoted to advancing knowledge among scholars and to enriching the cultural heritage of the Southwest. The first title to bear the A&M imprint, Storms Brewed in Other Men's Worlds by Elizabeth A. H. John, appeared in September 1975. The press has developed various series featuring regional history (the Centennial Series of the Association of Former Students, the Montague History of Oil Series, the Texas A&M Southwestern Studies Series, the Clayton Wheat Williams Texas Life Series, the Essays on the American West Series), regional art (the Joe and Betty Moore Texas Art Series), regional literature (Tarleton State University Southwestern Studies in the Humanities, the Frank H. Wardlaw Publication Series), natural history (Louise Lindsey Merrick Texas Environment Series, the W. L. Moody, Jr., Natural History Series), and economics (the Texas A&M University Economics Series). The press also publishes in military history, architecture, business history, chemistry, engineering, veterinary medicine, and nautical archeology. A reprint series, Southwest Landmarks, includes fiction and nonfiction of the nineteenth and twentieth centuries.

In February 1979 a fire destroyed the original press offices. These were replaced in 1983 by the John H. Lindsey Building, constructed expressly for publishing, with offices, shipping area, and warehouse all under one roof. Despite the early fire, Texas A&M University Press has established leadership among scholarly publishers in the Southwest and had produced thirty titles a year at the end of its first decade of operation. Funding for the press is derived from book sales, endowments, and support from the university. The press is a member of the Association of American University Presses. In addition to its own publications, the press distributes books with various other scholarly imprints, including Rice University Press, the Texas State Historical Association, and Texas Christian University Press.

Henry C. Dethloff, A Centennial History of Texas A&M University, 1876–1976 (2 vols., College Station: Texas A&M University Press, 1975).

Image Use Disclaimer

All copyrighted materials included within the Handbook of Texas Online are in accordance with Title 17 U.S.C. Section 107 related to Copyright and “Fair Use” for Non-Profit educational institutions, which permits the Texas State Historical Association (TSHA), to utilize copyrighted materials to further scholarship, education, and inform the public. The TSHA makes every effort to conform to the principles of fair use and to comply with copyright law.

For more information go to: http://www.law.cornell.edu/uscode/17/107.shtml

If you wish to use copyrighted material from this site for purposes of your own that go beyond fair use, you must obtain permission from the copyright owner.


The following, adapted from the Chicago Manual of Style, 15th edition, is the preferred citation for this article.

Handbook of Texas Online, Lloyd Lyman, "TEXAS A&M UNIVERSITY PRESS," accessed April 18, 2019, http://www.tshaonline.org/handbook/online/articles/eht02.

Uploaded on June 15, 2010. Published by the Texas State Historical Association.

Get this week's most popular Handbook of Texas articles delivered straight to your inbox