While our physical offices are closed until further notice in accordance with Austin's COVID-19 "stay home-work safe" order, the Handbook of Texas will remain available at no-cost for you, your fellow history enthusiasts, and all Texas students currently mandated to study from home. If you have the capacity to help us maintain our online Texas history resources during these uncertain times, please consider making a 100% tax-deductible contribution today. Thank you for your support of TSHA and Texas history. Donate Today »


Patrick Cox

TEXAS PRESS ASSOCIATION. The Texas Press Association is a statewide professional organization of weekly, semi-weekly and daily newspapers published in the state of Texas. It was founded by a group of seventy-seven journalists who met on May 19, 1880, at the Hutchins House in Houston. The purpose of the association is to provide members with a forum for discussing the legal and economic problems that face newspapers as businesses, to promote the welfare and rights of the Texas press, and to speak out on issues of public concern such as education and government. Following the resolution of a dispute over voting rights between owners and editors, members at the first meeting elected J. W. Fishburn of the Mexia Ledger to be the first president and agreed to meet again in 1881. Early conventions of the TPA reflected the hard times facing many of Texas journalists, along with confrontations arising from the political and moral climate of the state. Attendance and membership varied greatly because of economic woes facing many newspapers, even though members were often provided free transportation by the railroads and lodging by hotels in Houston and Dallas, the sites of the first meetings. In public matters the TPA was critical of the public school system in Texas during the 1880s, calling it "defective and inadequate" and "a source of blank mortification" when compared to that of other states. The third convention in April 1882 made all bona fide proprietors or editors of newspapers published no less than once a month, except "those of African descent," eligible for membership. The association entertained a resolution at its third convention from Mary S. Hathaway, the Texas organizer for the Woman's Christian Temperance Union, for free space in newspapers to assist in the formation of the statewide anti-alcohol group. The association declined to dictate such a requirement for its members, despite expressing sympathy for the cause of temperance "in all things." The alcohol issue continued as a problem for TPA when the group met in San Antonio in 1886 and debated an invitation to attend a reception at the Lone Star Brewery. According to A. D. Lillard of the Fairfield Recorder, the association was "to a great measure, misunderstood and misrepresented as to being a drinking and semi-dissipated body at its annual meetings." Lillard's motion to cancel the visit failed on an 18–17 vote.

Libel, advertising, education, printing, legislation, and community service remain ongoing concerns for both publishers and editors belonging to TPA. Among the association's significant accomplishments are the reestablishment of a Journalism Department at the University of Texas in 1929, start of the move for state purchase of the San Jacinto battleground, and passage of more stringent state laws concerning public notices and public access to government records and meetings. In 1947 the TPA hired Vernon T. Sanford as its first executive director with offices at the Baker Hotel in Dallas. The following year the association headquarters moved permanently to Austin, first to the Driskill Hotel and later to other locations in the capital city. Since 1970, and as of 1990, association offices were located in the Texas Press Association Building at 718 West 5th Street in Austin. Following the retirement of Sanford in 1971, Bill Boykin served as manager of the organization. Since 1974 Lyndell Williams has held this position, which now bears the title of executive vice president. TPA is headed by a president and board of directors selected from the membership, along with a twelve-member executive committee. The president serves a term of one year, and board members serve for three years. The president in 1990 was Mary Judson. The association meets annually at cities around the state. The number of newspapers belonging to TPA has changed significantly during its history. At the turn of the century membership comprised 789 newspapers (eighty-three dailies and 706 weeklies and semi-weeklies). In 1956 655 newspapers (112 dailies and 543 weeklies and semi-weeklies) belonged to the association and in 1989 560 publications (106 dailies and 454 weeklies and semi-weeklies). The Texas Press Association Messenger, a monthly magazine, which began publication in 1926, is the official voice of the association.

History of the Texas Press and the Texas Press Association (Dallas: Harben-Spotts, 1929). John C. Taylor, "The First Hundred Years," TPA Messenger, Special Ed., June 1980.

Image Use Disclaimer

All copyrighted materials included within the Handbook of Texas Online are in accordance with Title 17 U.S.C. Section 107 related to Copyright and “Fair Use” for Non-Profit educational institutions, which permits the Texas State Historical Association (TSHA), to utilize copyrighted materials to further scholarship, education, and inform the public. The TSHA makes every effort to conform to the principles of fair use and to comply with copyright law.

For more information go to: http://www.law.cornell.edu/uscode/17/107.shtml

If you wish to use copyrighted material from this site for purposes of your own that go beyond fair use, you must obtain permission from the copyright owner.


The following, adapted from the Chicago Manual of Style, 15th edition, is the preferred citation for this article.

Handbook of Texas Online, Patrick Cox, "TEXAS PRESS ASSOCIATION," accessed July 03, 2020, http://www.tshaonline.org/handbook/online/articles/eat02.

Uploaded on June 15, 2010. Published by the Texas State Historical Association.
visit the mytsha forums to participate

View these posts and more when you register your free MyTSHA account.

Call for Papers: Texas Center for Working-Class Studies Events, Symposia, and Workshops
Hi all! You may be interested in this call for papers I received from the Texas Center for Working-Class Studies at Collin College...

Katy Jennings' Ride Scholarly Research Request
I'm doing research on Catherine Jennings Lockwood, specifically the incident known as "Katy Jennings' Ride." Her father was Gordon C. Jennings, the oldest man to die at the Alamo...

Texas Constitution of 1836 Co-Author- Elisha Pease? Ask a Historian
The TSHA profile of Elisha Marshall Pease states that he wrote part of the Texas Constitution although he was only a 24 year-old assistant secretary (not elected). I cannot find any other mention of this authorship work by Pease in other credible research about the credited Constution authors...