SOUTH TEXAS CHAMBER OF COMMERCE. The South Texas Chamber of Commerce, established in 1926, covered in its activities fifty-five counties in South Texas, roughly bounded by Del Rio on the west, Austin on the north, Houston on the east, and the Rio Grande on the south. Its membership included business, agricultural, and industrial leaders in South Texas, and it had affiliated with it more than 100 local chambers of commerce, each of which was represented on its directorate. Representing commercial interests in its area and performing the usual functions of chambers of commerce, the organization included as special features of its program a demand that state-supported educational institutions in South Texas have their equitable proportion of state appropriations, work for the modernization and completion of the state highway system in South Texas, work for rate adjustments and improved marketing conditions in the area, work for equitable fire insurance rate adjustments, and encouragement of tourist traffic into South Texas and the Republic of Mexico. Founding officers of the organization were R. W. Morrison of San Antonio, president; S. C. Tucker of Brownsville, first vice president; E. R. Fawcett of Del Rio, second vice president; Ray Leeman of San Antonio, executive vice president, and George Rehment of Alice, treasurer. The official publication of the organization was a monthly news magazine, the South Texan, which continued publication into the 1970s. From 1975 to the mid-1980s the organization's official publication was called South Texas. For some years the group had cosponsored the Texas Legislative Conference held annually in New Braunfels. In 1986 the South Texas Chamber of Commerce moved its headquarters from San Antonio to Austin. That year there were over 960 members in the group from 101 cities across Texas. In 1988 the South Texas Chamber of Commerce, along with the other regional chambers of commerce, merged into the Texas Chamber of Commerce in Austin. In 1995 a further merger with the Texas Association of Business created the Texas Association of Business and Chambers of Commerce.

Image Use Disclaimer

All copyrighted materials included within the Handbook of Texas Online are in accordance with Title 17 U.S.C. Section 107 related to Copyright and “Fair Use” for Non-Profit educational institutions, which permits the Texas State Historical Association (TSHA), to utilize copyrighted materials to further scholarship, education, and inform the public. The TSHA makes every effort to conform to the principles of fair use and to comply with copyright law.

For more information go to:

If you wish to use copyrighted material from this site for purposes of your own that go beyond fair use, you must obtain permission from the copyright owner.


The following, adapted from the Chicago Manual of Style, 15th edition, is the preferred citation for this article.

Handbook of Texas Online, "SOUTH TEXAS CHAMBER OF COMMERCE," accessed February 29, 2020,

Uploaded on June 15, 2010. Published by the Texas State Historical Association.
visit the mytsha forums to participate

View these posts and more when you register your free MyTSHA account.

Call for Papers: Texas Center for Working-Class Studies Events, Symposia, and Workshops
Hi all! You may be interested in this call for papers I received from the Texas Center for Working-Class Studies at Collin College...

Katy Jennings' Ride Scholarly Research Request
I'm doing research on Catherine Jennings Lockwood, specifically the incident known as "Katy Jennings' Ride." Her father was Gordon C. Jennings, the oldest man to die at the Alamo...

Texas Constitution of 1836 Co-Author- Elisha Pease? Ask a Historian
The TSHA profile of Elisha Marshall Pease states that he wrote part of the Texas Constitution although he was only a 24 year-old assistant secretary (not elected). I cannot find any other mention of this authorship work by Pease in other credible research about the credited Constution authors...