Caldwell Memorial Awards


The Caldwell Memorial Awards were established in 1974 to promote research and writing in Texas and local history.  The Awards were named to honor the contributions of C. M. Caldwell and his shared belief with Walter Prescott Webb regarding the importance of young people researching and writing Texas and local history.  The Awards are made possible by the C. M. and Cora Caldwell Memorial Endowment Fund established by Clifton and Shirley Caldwell of Albany, Texas.

The following PDF document contains information about the current contest and the required registration form:

Caldwell Writing and Chapter Award Information and Submission Form

Entry deadline for the 2018 contest is January 20, 2019.

Caldwell Memorial Awards
For Excellence in History
2018 Recipients

Lower Division:
1st Place -Emily BlumentrittLee CollegePrairies and Industry: The Ecological History of the Galveston Bay Area
2nd PlaceTyler WhiteSan Jacinto College-CentralThe Birthplace of Texas
3rd Place Jazmin GarciaNortheast Texas Community CollegeMildred Moody and the Conservative Mentality
4th PlaceRhylie Anderson, Northeast Texas Community College, The Politics of Futility

Upper Division:
1st Place -Catarina Garza, Texas A&M University-San Antonio, The Fairmount Hotel: Moving the Past into the Present 
2nd Place - Albert Gonzales, Texas A&M University-San Antonio, Mestizo Folk Music: The Evolution of Mariachi Music
3rd Place Mark Snyder, Texas A&M University-San Antonio, Knights of the Golden Circle: History, Influence, and Legacy
4th Place - Philip Ferraro, Texas A&M University-San Antonio, For the Love of San Antonio

Graduate Division:
1st Place -No Award
2nd Place - No Award

Chapter Project:
Jacksonville College

visit the mytsha forums to participate

View these posts and more when you register your free MyTSHA account.

Call for Papers: Texas Center for Working-Class Studies Events, Symposia, and Workshops
Hi all! You may be interested in this call for papers I received from the Texas Center for Working-Class Studies at Collin College...

Katy Jennings' Ride Scholarly Research Request
I'm doing research on Catherine Jennings Lockwood, specifically the incident known as "Katy Jennings' Ride." Her father was Gordon C. Jennings, the oldest man to die at the Alamo...

Texas Constitution of 1836 Co-Author- Elisha Pease? Ask a Historian
The TSHA profile of Elisha Marshall Pease states that he wrote part of the Texas Constitution although he was only a 24 year-old assistant secretary (not elected). I cannot find any other mention of this authorship work by Pease in other credible research about the credited Constution authors...