Webb Society Sponsor's Handbook - Awards

The Webb Society Writing Contests
Sponsor Awards


Each year the Walter Prescott Webb Society recognizes excellence in historical research and writing with the C.M. Caldwell Memorial Awards. Entries to the competition can be research papers or projects. Provisions of competition are as follows.

Chapter Research Projects

Research projects can take a number of forms. Teaching units for primary or secondary schools may be developed. Documentary media productions should be submitted in video format. Oral history projects, collecting programs (photographs, artifacts, documents, business records, or personal correspondence), and historical restoration and preservation projects should be submitted as project reports which outline a) the scope of the undertaking; b) its purpose; c) procedures followed; d) findings; e) conclusions; f) significance of the project. These reports should be accompanied with substantial evidence such as slides, tapes, photographs, etc.

Student Divisions

Indicate if writers/producers are Junior Division Students, that is, college or university freshmen and sophomores (students having no more than 59 semester hours credit on September 1 of the current academic year); Senior Division Students, that is, juniors and seniors (60 or more semester hours credit on September 1 of the current academic year); or Graduate Students.


Four prizes are awarded in both the Junior Division and the Senior Division: 1st Place $400, 2nd Place $300, 3rd Place $150, 4th Place $75. The Graduate Division offers two awards, 1st Place $400 and 2nd Place $300. A number of articles will be chosen for publication in Touchstone, the journal of the Webb Society. A special $600 prize will also be presented for an outstanding project entered by a chapter, either junior or senior division. Any project developed by two or more students will be evaluated as a chapter project.

Submission Requirements and Deadline

Contest entries must follow the subission procedures and deadlines found on the Registration Form. Mail entries to Webb Society Contest,

Texas State Historical Association 
3001 Lake Austin Blvd.
Suite 3.116
Austin, TX 78703.

  [Back to Top]


The Texas State Historical Association is proud to also recognize sponsors for their outstanding work and commitment to the program. The Association recognizes sponsors through the David C. De Boe Memorial Award.

David C. De Boe Memorial Award

The David C. De Boe Award is given to sponsors for outstanding achievement with a Webb Society chapter. The award honors the memory of longtime TSHA Director of Educational Services whose bequest makes possible a monetary award in addition to a handsome trophy in the shape of a five pointed star. Selection is made by the TSHA Education Committee, based on nominations received from the TSHA Director of Educational Services based on achievement. Awards are presented at the Webb Society Annual Meeting.

Mary Jon and J. P. Bryan Leadership in Education Award

Sponsors are also encouraged to nominate or be nominated for the Mary Jon and J. P. Bryan Leadership in Education Award, which is presented at the Association's Annual Meeting each March. This award is open to all 6th grade-university level history teachers. For more information about this award visit the TSHA Web site.

 [Back to Top]

Get this week's most popular Handbook of Texas articles delivered straight to your inbox