Coral Horton Tullis Memorial Prize for Best Book on Texas History

The 2021 Coral Horton Tullis Memorial Prize for Best Book on Texas History


The Tullis Memorial Prize is awarded annually to the best book on Texas published during the calendar year. The winning author will be receive a certificate and $2,000 at the Association's Annual Meeting in March 2021. Judges may withhold the award at their discretion.

Publishers should submit an entry form and four (4) copies of each entry published and copyrighted in 2020 to the TSHA office by October 1, 2020. Books published after October 1, but copyrighted during the calendar year will be accepted until December 1.

All book award submissions must include an individual nomination form in the container transmitting the book in question; TSHA is not responsible for books that arrive without nomination forms.

Tullis Memorial Prize
Texas State Historical Association
3001 Lake Austin Blvd.
Suite 3.116
Austin, TX 78703

The Coral Horton Tullis Memorial Prize was established in 1967 by her children, John L. Tullis and Mrs. W. D. (Jean Tullis) White Sr. The prize honors Mrs. Tullis for all that she accomplished on behalf of history while teaching at the University of Texas at Austin for thirty-five years and during her forty-year tenure as treasurer and corresponding Secretary of the Texas State Historical Association.

Past Recipients

2014 Jason Mellard Progressive Country
2007 Jane C. Monday and Frances B. Vick Petra's Legacy
2002 James L. Haley Sam Houston
visit the mytsha forums to participate

View these posts and more when you register your free MyTSHA account.

Call for Papers: Texas Center for Working-Class Studies Events, Symposia, and Workshops
Hi all! You may be interested in this call for papers I received from the Texas Center for Working-Class Studies at Collin College...

Katy Jennings' Ride Scholarly Research Request
I'm doing research on Catherine Jennings Lockwood, specifically the incident known as "Katy Jennings' Ride." Her father was Gordon C. Jennings, the oldest man to die at the Alamo...

Texas Constitution of 1836 Co-Author- Elisha Pease? Ask a Historian
The TSHA profile of Elisha Marshall Pease states that he wrote part of the Texas Constitution although he was only a 24 year-old assistant secretary (not elected). I cannot find any other mention of this authorship work by Pease in other credible research about the credited Constution authors...