H. Bailey Carroll Award for Best Article in the Southwestern Historical Quarterly

The 2020 H. Bailey Carroll Award for Best Article in the Southwestern Historical Quarterly


The Carroll Award is given annually for the best article to appear in the Southwestern Historical Quarterly. This award honors an article appearing in the following issues: January 2020 through October 2020. Articles should be based upon original research, fully documented, and styled according to the general format of the Quarterly. Any articles in the Quarterly on a Southwestern topic will be considered. The winning author will be presented a certificate and $2,000 at the Association's Annual Meeting in March 2021. Judges may withhold the award at their discretion.

To submit articles or for more information about the Quarterly please visit, https://www.tshaonline.org/shqonline/information-authors/how-submit-article-quarterly or contact:

Ryan Schumacher, Managing Editor
Southwestern Historical Quarterly
Texas State Historical Association
3001 Lake Austin Blvd.
Suite 3.116
Austin, TX 78703

The H. Bailey Carroll Award was established in 1967 by the Texas State Historical Association and funded by many Association members in honor of Dr. Carroll, the accomplished Texas historian who served as the director of the Association from 1946 until his death in 1966.

Past Recipients

2012 Shennette Garrett-Scott
2011 Harold L. Smith
2010 F. Todd Smith
2009 Christopher Bean
2008 James E. Ivey
2007 Brian D. Behnken
2006 Larry P. Knight
2005 Mary Jo O'Rear
2004 Gregg Cantrell
2003 Kenneth Hafertepe
2002 William S. Osborn
2001 Jean Stuntz
2000 Gregg Cantrell
1999 Nicholas Sarantakes
1998 Paul A. Levengood
1997 L. Patrick Hughes
1996 Vicki Howard
1995 Gregg Cantrell
1994 Fred Bailey
1993 James E. Crisp
1992 Ronald E. Marcello
1991 Harry Hewitt
1990 H. Allen Anderson
1989 Randolph B. Campbell
visit the mytsha forums to participate

View these posts and more when you register your free MyTSHA account.

Call for Papers: Texas Center for Working-Class Studies Events, Symposia, and Workshops
Hi all! You may be interested in this call for papers I received from the Texas Center for Working-Class Studies at Collin College...

Katy Jennings' Ride Scholarly Research Request
I'm doing research on Catherine Jennings Lockwood, specifically the incident known as "Katy Jennings' Ride." Her father was Gordon C. Jennings, the oldest man to die at the Alamo...

Texas Constitution of 1836 Co-Author- Elisha Pease? Ask a Historian
The TSHA profile of Elisha Marshall Pease states that he wrote part of the Texas Constitution although he was only a 24 year-old assistant secretary (not elected). I cannot find any other mention of this authorship work by Pease in other credible research about the credited Constution authors...