Mary Jon and J. P. Bryan Leadership in Education Award

The Mary Jon and J. P. Bryan Leadership in Education Award


The Mary Jon and J.P. Bryan Leadership in Education Awards are given annually to recognize two outstanding history educators, one each at the K-12 and college levels.

The winning educators for 2018 will be presented with a certificate and a check for $5,000 at the Association's Annual Meeting in February 2019 in Corpus Christi, Texas.

Any person may nominate any full-time educator presently teaching history in a Texas school or college. Letters of nomination sent to the award committee must be postmarked on or before December 08, 2018.


  •     Nomination letter for the nominee (from the teacher or other)
  •     Nominee's resume or vita, as well as other letters of recommendation
  •     Cannot exceed seven pages

Please submit your nomination and supporting materials to:

Mary Jon and J. P. Bryan
Leadership in Education Award
Texas State Historical Association
3001 Lake Austin Blvd., Ste 3.116
Austin, TX 78703

Should the committee decide that no entry meets the requirements, they may withhold the award at their discretion.

Past Recipients

2017 Jerry Thompson & Mike Bailey
2016 Dan K. Utley & Justin Felux
2015 Andrew Yox & James Philips
2014 Jessica Janota
2013 Dr. Mary Scheer & Patricia Ritchie
2012 Garna Christian
2011 Susan Locklear
2010 Randolph B. Campbell
2009 Jeffrey Kyle Jones
2008 Tim Draves
2007 Donna Jenkins
2006 Donna Britt
2005 Sandra Neal
2004 Archie McDonald & Brenda Beaven
2003 Danny Corbett
2002 Caroline Crimm & Eddie Weller
2001 Jo Ann Stiles
2000 Bea Svambera
1999 Debra Brown
1998 John C. Britt
1997 Jeanette Aultman
1996 Diana Lynn Severance
1995 Elizabeth Battle
1994 Oliver Franklin
1993 Rosemary Morrow & Brian Shenk
1992 Michael Moore
1991 Stewart Caffey
1990 Joe Ramirez
1989 Bonnie Truax
1988 Sally Robeau

Get this week's most popular Handbook of Texas articles delivered straight to your inbox