Kate Broocks Bates Award for Historical Research

The 2020 Kate Broocks Bates Award For Historical Research


The Bates Award is given annually for a significant piece of historical research dealing with any phase of Texas history prior to 1900. More recent history may be included if it is relevant, although preference will be given to subjects dating from the period of the Republic or from the pre-Republic years. Submissions must be of book length and must have been published within the two previous calendar years of the award. The winning author will receive a certificate and $4,000 at the Association's annual meeting in March 2020. Judges may withhold the award at their discretion.

Publishers should submit an entry form and four (4) copies of each entry published and copyrighted in 2018 or 2019 to the TSHA office by October 6, 2019. Books published after October 6,  but copyrighted during the calendar year will be accepted until December 11.

Kate Broocks Bates Award
Texas State Historical Association
3001 Lake Austin Blvd.
Suite 3.116
Austin, TX 78703

The Kate Broocks Bates Award was established in 1976 in the name of the Daughters of the Republic of Texas by her children, Kate Harding Bates Parker and C. Elisabeth Bates Nisbet. The award honors Mrs. Bates, a dedicated member of the Daughters of the Republic of Texas who was committed to the study of Texas history.  

Past Recipients

2015 Lawrence T. Jones III Lens on the Texas Frontier
2012 Richard B. McCaslin Fighting Stock: John S. "Rip" Ford
2011 No Award
2008 Pekka Hämäläinen The Comanche Empire
2007 Donald E. Reynolds Texas Terror
2006 Stephen A. Townsend The Yankee Invasion of Texas
2002 Robert Maberry Jr. Texas Flags
1996 Jack Jackson Flags Along the Coast
1993 Donald E. Chipman Spanish Texas
1989 Andreas V. Reichstein Rise of the Lone Star: The Making of Texas

Get this week's most popular Handbook of Texas articles delivered straight to your inbox