Members Only Area
Bookmark and Share

Al Lowman Memorial Prize

The 2014 Al Lowman Memorial Prize for Best Book on Texas County or Local History


The Lowman Memorial Prize is awarded annually to the best book on Texas county and local history published during the calendar year. The winning author for 2014 will be presented a certificate and $1,000 at the Association's annual meeting in March 2015. Judges may withhold the award at their discretion.

Publishers should submit an entry form and three (3) copies of each entry published and copyrighted in 2014 to the TSHA office (address provided below) by October 10, 2014. Books published after October 10 but copyrighted during the calendar year will be accepted until December 15.

Lowman Memorial Prize
Texas State Historical Association
1155 Union Circle #311580
Denton, TX 76203-5017

The Al Lowman Memorial Prize was established in 2013 in tribute to Al Lowman, a bibliophile and connoisseur of well-designed books and a much loved figure in Texas history circles. The intent of this award is to revive the publishing of Texas county and local histories.