Lawrence T. Jones III Research Fellowship in Civil War Texas History

The 2021 Lawrence T. Jones III Research Fellowship in Civil War Texas History


The Lawrence T. Jones III Research Fellowship is awarded annually for the best research proposal having to do with Texas history and the Civil War.

The application, which should be no longer than one page, should specify the purpose of the research, the need for the money, and a description of the end product (article, book, or exhibition, etc.) that will result from the research. Please include a complete vita with the application. The award will be announced at the Association's Annual Meeting in March 2021. Judges may withhold the award at their discretion.

Individuals wishing to apply should submit an application form (and attach the proposal and a curriculum vita) by October 15, 2020. Only electronic copies submitted by the deadline will be considered.

If you have trouble submitting the new application form, please email us at: or call: (512) 471-2600.

The Lawrence T. Jones III Research Fellowship was established in 2000 to honor Lawrence T. Jones III for his many contributions to the study, collection, and publication of Texas and Civil War history.

Past Recipients

2019 Deborah Liles
2018 No Award
2017 Michael Frawley
2016 Amanda Kleintop
2015 Evan Rothera
2014 Matthew Stith
2013 Drew Gruber
2012 Curtis Milbourn
2011 No Award
2010 Susannah J. Ural
2009 Nancy Draves
2008 Julia Brookins
2007 No Award
2006 Richard B. McCaslin
2005 Charles D. Grear
2004 No Award
2003 Victoria Bynum
2002 No Award
2001 Karen V. Gerhardt
visit the mytsha forums to participate

View these posts and more when you register your free MyTSHA account.

Call for Papers: Texas Center for Working-Class Studies Events, Symposia, and Workshops
Hi all! You may be interested in this call for papers I received from the Texas Center for Working-Class Studies at Collin College...

Katy Jennings' Ride Scholarly Research Request
I'm doing research on Catherine Jennings Lockwood, specifically the incident known as "Katy Jennings' Ride." Her father was Gordon C. Jennings, the oldest man to die at the Alamo...

Texas Constitution of 1836 Co-Author- Elisha Pease? Ask a Historian
The TSHA profile of Elisha Marshall Pease states that he wrote part of the Texas Constitution although he was only a 24 year-old assistant secretary (not elected). I cannot find any other mention of this authorship work by Pease in other credible research about the credited Constution authors...