sidebar menu icon

2011 Fellows, Awards, and Fellowships

Fellows Announced and Awards and Research Fellowships Presented at 2011 Annual Meeting

During the 115th Annual Meeting held March 3 - 5, 2011 at the Camino Real Hotel in El Paso, the Association honored individuals who have excelled in Texas history through research, teaching, and scholarship. 
2011 Fellows2011 Fellows Byron Price, Elizabeth Turner, and Richard Lowe (l-r)
According to the bylaws, the Board of Directors can honor three members who "demonstrate through distinguished published works, or other exemplary scholarly activity, a special aptitude for historical investigation relating to the state of Texas” by naming each a Fellow.

The 2011 Fellows of the Association are:
Richard G. Lowe - University of North Texas
B. Byron Price - University of Oklahoma
Elizabeth Hayes Turner - University of North Texas
Six annual awards were presented:
Kate Broocks Bates Award for Historical Research awarded for a significant piece of historical research dealing with any phase of Texas history prior to 1900 was given to Thomas A. Britten for  The Lipan Apaches: People of Wind and Lightning published by the University of New Mexico Press.
Mary Jon and J. P. Bryan Leadership in Education Awardgiven to recognize and honor an outstanding teacher of history in Texas was presented to Randolph B. "Mike" Campbell of the University of North Texas.
Liz Carpenter Award for Research in the History of Women presented for the best scholarly book on the history of women and Texas published during the previous calendar year was given to Judith N. McArthur and Harold L. Smith of the University of Houston at Victoria for  Texas Through Women's Eyes: The Twentieth Century Experience published by the University of Texas Press.

H. Bailey Carroll Award
presented for the best article to appear in the Southwestern Historical Quarterly went to F. Todd Smith of the University of North Texas for “Texas Through 1845: A Survey of the Historical Literature of Recent Decades."

Coral Horton Tullis Memorial Prize
awarded for the best book on Texas published during the previous calendar year was given to Gary M. Lavergne on staff with The University of Texas at Austin for Before Brown: Heman Marion Sweatt, Thurgood Marshall, and the Long Road to Justice published by the University of Texas Press.
Ron Tyler Award for Best Illustrated Book on Texas History and Culture given for a book dealing with Texas history and using special visual applications such as photography and reproduction of historic paintings went to Geoff Winningham of Rice University for  Traveling the Shore of the Spanish Sea: The Gulf Coast of Texas & Mexico published by Texas A&M University Press. 
Four annual research fellowships were announced:
Catarino and Evangelina Hern√°ndez Research Fellowship in Latino History given for the best research proposal relating to the history of Latinos in Texas goes to Cassandra Rincones of South Texas College.
Mary M. Hughes Research Fellowship in Texas History presented for the best research proposal on twentieth-century Texas History is awarded to Thomas E. Alter of the University of Illinois at Chicago.

John H. Jenkins Research Fellowship in Texas History
awarded to the best research proposal having to do with Texas history is presented to David Rex Galindo of Southern Methodist University.

Cecilia Steinfeldt Fellowship for Research in the Arts and Material Culture presented for the best research proposal on decorative and fine arts, material culture, preservation, and architecture in Texas from the seventeenth century to the present is awarded to L.Tylene Levesque of R.L.& Associates LLC.
Recipients of the awards and fellowships are reviewed and decided by TSHA committee members made up of members with academic and Texas history backgrounds.