Smallwood Memorial Scholarship

In honor of the career of Dr. James Smallwood, the Walter Prescott Webb Historical Society, the Texas State Historical Association, and Abigail Press will recognize one student who shows excellence in the study of Texas history. Provisions of the competition are as follows.

A $500.00 scholarship will be awarded annually. The award will be presented at the Texas State Historical Association’s Annual Meeting, in conjunction with the Caldwell Memorial Awards Ceremony.

Undergraduate and graduate students who are currently enrolled in a college or university and are currently enrolled in or have recently completed (previous 2 semesters) a Texas history course, are eligible to apply.Preference will be given to students who have written on a Texas history topic in the past 12 months, and have provided a digital copy of their work. Examples can include papers written as submissions for the Caldwell Memorial Awards, course work, or submissions to other research and writing contests.

The Smallwood Scholarship is no longer available.

Past Winners:

2016  - Melody Mott, Northeast Texas Community College
2015 - Christian Flanders, McMurry University

Get this week's most popular Handbook of Texas articles delivered straight to your inbox